Skip to content

Is everyone cut out for entrepreneurship?

December 7, 2009

A Facebook thread I participated in this weekend prompted a healthy debate. The topic of discussion? Whether most people can be successful entrepreneurs.

I believe so. But most of us would raise an eyebrow at that, if not reject the idea all together. This is because we have been conditioned to believe that entrepreneurship is hard. It is hard. Because we are groomed for all of our lives to be employees. The same way we are molded into good employees, we can be molded into good entrepreneurs.

Is this to say that every single person would do well as an entrepreneur? Certainly not. But not every single person does well as an employee either.

I suspect that a lot more people than who have tried can win as entrepreneurs.

Mass entrepreneurship is not so outlandish either. America was once a place where 9 of 10 citizens were entrepreneurs. That was before the Industrial Revolution.

Plus, in a world of options and personalization, people can make up their own brand of entrepreneurship. It is no longer the zero-sum heroic pursuit where you either win or lose it all. You can still have a job and be an entrepreneur, too; I call this hybrid entrepreneurship.

There are a million ways to make a million dollars and I believe everyone has an idea–or can commit to one–that they can cash in on.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    July 14, 2010 8:52 pm

    Thanks for this information because I have alot of drive and all my friends and family know that once I start something it is hard for me to let it go until I acheive some sort of success, but they still look at me crazy and I don’t have that much support, I always get more ways on how hard it would be than I have your back and will invest in you, now I have made some bad choices in my life, but when someone wants to do something positive why can’t our people be behind them instead of being so negative?

Leave a Reply

